CONCEIVING WASTEWATER TREATMENT IN 2020
Energetic, environmental and economic challenges (ES1202)
COST

WG Members

WG1. Efficient technologies
WG2. Resource recovery technologies
WG3. Environmental and economic impact
WG4. Process integration


WG1. Efficient technologies

Name Institution Country email
Gerasimos Lyberatos (Chair) National Technical University of Athens Greece Lyberatos@chemeng.ntua.gr
Maria Concetta Tomei (Co-Chair) Water Research Institute Rome Italy tomei@irsa.cnr.it
Francesco Fatone (Secretary) University of Verona  Italy francesco.fatone@univr.it
Georgia A. Antonopoulou National Technical University of Athens Greece geogant@chemeng.upatras.gr
Mona Arnold Technical Research Centre Finland Finland mona.arnold@vtt.fi
Chokri Belaid Higher Institute of Biotechnology of Beja Tunisia chokribel@yahoo.fr
Giorgio Bertanza Brescia University Italy giorgio.bertanza@ing.unibs.it
Gianluigi Buttiglieri Catalan Institute for Water Research Spain gbuttiglieri@icra.cat
Trevor Chircop Bray Water Services Corporation (WSC) Malta Brayt@wsc.com.mt
Roberto Canziani Politecnico di Milano Italy roberto.canziani@polimi.it
Marta Carballa University of Santiago de Compostela Spain marta.carballa@usc.es
Paula Castro Universidade Católica Portuguesa Portugal plcastro@porto.ucp.pt
Grzegorz Cema Silesian University of Technology Poland gcema@kbs.ise.polsl.pl
Jean-Marc Choubert IRSTEA France jean-marc.choubert@irstea.fr
Deniz I. Ciftci Namık Kemal University Turkey dicifci@nku.edu.tr
Sandra Contreras Universitat Rovira i Vigili Spain sandra.contreras@urv.cat
Ondrej Dolezal Brno University of Technology Czech Republic dolezal.o@fce.vutbr.cz
Carlos Dosoretz Technion-IIT, Haifa Israel carlosd@tx.technion.ac.il
Joan Dosta Universtiy of Barcelona Spain jdosta@ub.edu
Jan Dries University of Antwerp Belgium jan.dries2@uantwerpen.be
Santiago Esplugas University of Barcelona Spain santi.esplugas@ub.edu
Anna Laura Eusebi Università Politecnica delle Marche Italy a.l.eusebi@univpm.it
Ewa Felis Silesian University of Technology Poland ewa.felis@polsl.pl
Elena Ficara Politecnico di Milano Italy elena.ficara@polimi.it
Alberto Figoli CNR Italy a.figoli@itm.cnr.it
Alex Gali Cetaqua Spain agali@cetaqua.com
Martha Georgiopoulou National Technical University of Athens Greece mgeorgiop@yahoo.gr
Celal Ferdi Gokcay Middle East Technical Univ Turkey cfgokcay@metu.edu.tr
Ivana Grčić University of Zagreb Croatia igrcic@fkit.hr
Maaike Hoekstra Delft University of Technology Netherlands M.Hoekstra-1@TUDelft.nl
Jan Hoinkis Karlsruhe University of Applied Sciences Germany jan.hoinkis@googlemail.com
Orhan Ince Istanbul Technical University Turkey inceor@itu.edu.tr
Evina Katsou Brunel University London UK ekatsou@yahoo.gr
Pawel Krzeminski Norwegian Institute for Water Research Norway pawel.krzeminski@niva.no
Claudio Di laconi Water Research Institute Rome Italy claudio.diiaconi@ba.irsa.cnr.it
Javier Lafuente Autonomous University of Barcelona Spain javier.lafuente@uab.cat
Juan M. Lema University of Santiago de Composela Spain juan.lema@usc.es
Clive Lipchin Arava Institute for Environmental Studies Israel clivearava@gmail.com
Glusy Lofrano Salerno Province Italy giusylofrano@gmail.com
Simos Malamis University of Verona Italy malamis.simos@gmail.com
Samuel Martin Cirsee, Suez Environnement France samuel.martin@suez-env.com
Giuseppe Mascolo CNR - Water Research Institute, Bari Italy giuseppe.mascolo@ba.irsa.cnr.it
Sureyya Meriç Namık Kemal University Turkey smeric@nku.edu.tr
Christophe Meunier CEBEDEAU Belgium cmeunier@cebedeau.be
Valentin Nenov Burgas University Bulgaria vnenov@btu.bg
Ioanna Ntaikou National Technical University of Athens Greece Ntaikou@iceht.forth.gr
Françoise Pirard CEBEDEAU Belgium ---
Peep Pitk Tallinn University of Technology Estonia peeppitk@gmail.com
Elzbieta Plaza Royal Institute of Technology Sweden elap@kth.se
Sergio Ponsá Universitat de Vic Spain sergio.ponsa@uvic.cat
Madars Reimanis Lejas Azeri Latvia madars.r@inbox.lv
Daniele Renzi Alto Trevigiano Servizi S.R.L. Italy drenzi@altotrevigianoservizi.it
Mindaugas Rimeika Vilnius Gediminas Technical University Lithuania mindaugas.rimeika@vgtu.lt
Isam Sabbah ORT Braude College Israel isabbah@braude.ac.il
Aurora Seco University of Valencia Spain aurora.seco@uv.es
Ana Soares Cranfield University UK a.soares@Cranfield.ac.uk
Joanna Surmacz-Górska Silesian University of Technology Poland joanna.s.gorska@polsl.pl
Eoin Syron University College Dublin Ireland eoin.syron@ucd.ie
Iñaki Tejero University of Cantabria Spain juan.tejero@unican.es
Carmen Teodosiu Technical University of Iasi Romania cteo@ch.tuiasi.ro
Eveline Volcke Ghent University Belgium eveline.volcke@ugent.be
Ioannis Vyrides Cyprus University of Technology Cyprus ioannis.vyrides@cut.ac.cy
Marjoleine Weemaes Aquafin Belgium marjoleine.weemaes@aquafin.be
Thomas Wintgens School of Life Sciences Switzerland thomas.wintgens@fhnw.ch


back to top of page

WG2. Resource recovery technologies

Name Institution Country email
Robbert Kleerebezem (Chair) Delft University of Technology The Netherlands R.Kleerebezem@tudelft.nl
Mark Healy (Co-Chair) National University of Ireland Ireland mark.healy@nuigalway.ie
Ana Soares (Secretary) Cranfield University United Kingdom a.soares@cranfield.ac.uk
Mohamed Tawfic Ahmed Suez Canal University Egypt motawfic@tedata.net.eg
Georgia A.Antonopoulou National Technical University of Athens Greece geogant@chemeng.upatras.gr
Mona Arnold Technical Research Centre Finland Finland mona.arnold@vtt.fi
Predrag Banković University of Belgrade Serbia predragb@nanosys.ihtm.bg.ac.rs
Giorgio Bertanza Brescia University Italy giorgio.bertanza@ing.unibs.it
David Bolzonella University of Verona Italy david.bolzonella@univr.it
Zeynep Cetecioglu Istanbul Technical University Turkey cetecioglu@itu.edu.tr
Jesús Colprim University of Girona Spain J.Colprim@lequia.udg.cat

Wim De Schepper

VITO nv Belgium wim.deschepper@vito.be
Joan Dosta University of Barcleona Spain jdosta@ub.edu
Anna Laura Eusebi Università Politecnica delle Marche Italy a.l.eusebi@univpm.it
Roberto Farina ENEA Italy roberto.farina@enea.it
Alex Gali Cetaqua Spain agali@cetaqua.com
Ian Head Newcastle University United Kingdom ian.head@ncl.ac.uk
Orhan Ince Istanbul Technical University Turkey inceor@itu.edu.tr
Pawel Krzeminski Norwegian Institute for Water Research Norway pawel.krzeminski@niva.no
Guenter Langergraber

University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences

Austria guenter.langergraber@boku.ac.at
Gerasimos Lyberatos National Technical University of Athens Greece Lyberatos@chemeng.ntua.gr
Eberhard Morgenroth EAWAG Switzerland eberhard.morgenroth@eawag.ch
Anders Nättorp School of Life Sciences Switzerland anders.naettorp@fhnw.ch
Ioanna Ntaikou National Technical University of Athens Greece ntaikou@iceht.forth.gr
Piotr Oleskowicz-Popiel Poznan University of Technology Poland piotr.oleskowicz-popiel@put.poznan.pl
Maite Pijuan Catalan Institute for Water Research Spain mpijuan@icra.cat
Maria A. Reis Universidade Nova de Lisboa Portugal amr@fct.unl.pt
Davide Scaglione Politecnico di Milano Italy davide.scaglione@mail.polimi.it
Peter Schröder Helmholtz Zentrum Muenchen Germany peter.schroeder@helmholtz-muenchen.de
Joaquin Serralta Universitat Politecnica de Valencia Spain jserralt@hma.upv.es
Silva Simplicio National University of Ireland Ireland walquiriasimplicio@hotmail.com
Tadeusz Siwiec Warsaw University of Life Sciences Poland tadeusz_siwiec@sggw.pl
Ioannis Vyrides Cyprus University of Technology Cyprus ioannis.vyrides@cut.ac.cy
Marjoleine Weemaes Aquafin Belgium marjoleine.weemaes@aquafin.be
Magdalena Zabochnicka Czestochowa University of Technology Poland mzabochnicka@is.pcz.czest.pl
Maria Zachariou-Dodou Institute of Environment and Sustainable Development Cyprus zacharioum@gmail.com


back to top of page

WG3. Environmental and economic impact

Name Institution Country email
Konstantinos Tsagarakis (Chair) Democritus University of Thrace Greece ktsagar@env.duth.gr
Adrian Oehmen (Co-Chair) Universidade Nova de Lisboa Portugal a.oehmen@fct.unl.pt
Marta Carballa (Secretary) University of Santiago de Compostela Spain marta.carballa@usc.es
Mohamed Tawfic Ahmed Suez Canal University Egypt motawfic@tedata.net.eg
Christos Anastasiou Frederick University Cyprus c.anastasiou@frederick.ac.cy
Chokri Belaid Higher Institute of Biotechnology of Beja Tunisia chokribel@yahoo.fr
Trevor Chircop Bray Water Services Corporation (WSC) Malta Brayt@wsc.com.mt
Lluís Corominas Catalan Institute for Water Research (ICRA) Spain lcorominas@icra.cat
Rui Cunha Marques University of Lisbon Portugal rui.marques@tecnico.ulisboa.pt
Jolanta Dvarionienė Kaunas University of Technology Lithuania jolanta.dvarioniene@ktu.lt
Andrea Guerrini University of Verona Italy andrea.guerrini@univr.it
Zisan Emre Turkish Atomic Energy Authority Turkey zisan.emre@taek.gov.tr
Roberto Farina ENEA Italy roberto.farina@enea.it
Antonio J. García-Fernández University of Murcia Spain ajgf@um.es
Brigitte Helmreich Brigitte Helmreich Germany b.helmreich@tum.de
Francesc Hernandez-Sancho University of Valencia Spain francesc.hernandez@uv.es
Petr Hlavínek Brno University of Technology Czech Republic hlavinek.p@fce.vutbr.cz
Almudena Hospido University of Santiago de Compostela Spain almudena.hospido@usc.es
Alette Langenhoff Wageningen University The Netherlands alette.langenhoff@wur.nl
Henrik Fred Larsen Danish Road Directorate Denmark hfl@vd.dk
Giovanni Libralato University Ca' Foscari Venice Italy giovanni.libralato@unive.it
Clive Lipchin Arava Institute for Environmental Studies Israel clivearava@gmail.com
Samuel Martin Cirsee, Suez Environnement France samuel.martin@suez-env.com
Emma Martínez-López University of Murcia Spain emmaml@um.es
António Martins Águas do Algarve Portugal m.martins@aguasdoalgarve.pt
Alexandros Maziotis University of Manchester United Kingdom alexandros.maziotis@manchester.ac.uk
María Molinos-Senante University of Valencia Spain maria.molinos@uv.es
M. Teresa Moreira University of Santiago de Compostela Spain maite.moreira@usc.es
Raul Muñoz University of Valladolid Spain mutora@iq.uva.es
Ioannis Nikolaou Democritus University of Thrace Greece inikol@env.duth.gr
Matteo Papa Brescia University Italy matteo.papa@ing.unibs.it
Maite Pijuan Catalan Institute for Water Research Spain mpijuan@icra.cat
Christian Remy Berlin Centre of Competence for Water Germany christian.remy@kompetenz-wasser.de
Peter Schröder Helmholtz Zentrum Muenchen Germany peter.schroeder@helmholtz-muenchen.de
Biljana Škrbić University of Novi Sad Serbia biljana@tf.uns.ac.rs
Ed Smeets Edmadi BV Netherlands ed.smeets1@planet.nl
Joanna Surmacz-Górska Silesian University of Technology Poland joanna.s.gorska@polsl.pl
Carmen Teodosiu Technical University of Iasi Romania cteo@ch.tuiasi.ro
Christian Vogelsang Norwegian Institute for Water Research Norway christian.vogelsang@niva.no
Thomas Wintgens School of Life Sciences Switzerland thomas.wintgens@fhnw.ch
Maria Zachariou-Dodou Institute of Environment and Sustainable Development Cyprus zacharioum@gmail.com


back to top of page

WG4. Process integration

Name Institution Country email
Marie-Noëlle Pons (Chair) CNRS-ENSIC- Laboratoire réactions et Génie des Procédés France marie-noelle.pons@univ-lorraine.fr
Gürkan Sin (Co-Chair) Technical University of Denmark Denmark gsi@kt.dtu.dk
Xavier Flores-Alsina (Secretary) Lund University Sweden xavier.flores@iea.lth.se
Eduardo Ayesa Centre of Studies and Technical Research Spain eayesa@ceit.es
Juan Antonio Baeza Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona Spain JuanAntonio.Baeza@uab.cat
Bengt Carlsson Uppsala University Sweden bengt.carlsson@it.uu.se
Joaquim Comas University of Girona Spain joaquim.comas@udg.edu
Sabino De Gisi Technical University of Bari Italy sabino.degisi@poliba.it
Ondrej Dolezal Brno University of Technology Czech Republic dolezal.o@fce.vutbr.cz
Krist V. Gernaey Technical University of Denmark Denmark kvg@kt.dtu.dk
Paloma Grau Centre of Studies and Technical Research Spain pgrau@ceit.es
Ulf Jeppsson Lund University Sweden ulf.jeppsson@iea.lth.se
Julie Jimenez LBE INRA Narbonne France julie.jimenez@supagro.inra.fr
Javier Lafuente Autonomous University of Barcelona Spain javier.lafuente@uab.cat
Guenter Langergraber

University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences

Austria guenter.langergraber@boku.ac.at
Florica Manea "Politehnica" University of Timisoara Romania maneaflorica@yahoo.com
Alma Mašić EAWAG Switzerland alma@almamasic.com
Joan Mata-Alvarez University of Barcelona Spain jmata@ub.edu
Miguel Mauricio University of Santiago de Compostela Spain miguel.mauricio@usc.es
Eberhard Morgenroth EAWAG Switzerland eberhard.morgenroth@eawag.ch
Wouter Naessens Ghent University Belgium wouter.naessens@ugent.be
Ingmar Nopens Ghent University Belgium ingmar.nopens@ugent.be
Matteo Papa Brescia University Italy matteo.papa@ing.unibs.it
Sergio Ponsá Universitat de Vic Spain sergio.ponsa@uvic.cat
Madars Reimanis Lejas Azeri Latvia madars.r@inbox.lv
Josep Ribes University of Valencia Spain josep.ribes@uv.es
Mindaugas Rimeika Vilnius Gediminas Technical University Lithuania mindaugas.rimeika@vgtu.lt
Katerina Stamatelatou Democritus University of Thrace Greece astamat@env.duth.gr
Kris Villez EAWAG Switzerland Kris.villez@eawag.ch
Eveline Volcke Ghent University Belgium eveline.volcke@ugent.be
Darko Vrecko Jozef Stefan Institute Slovenia darko.vrecko@ijs.si


back to top of page